What is DASA scheme and eligibility criteria

What is dasa scheme and eligibility criteria

An Indian government scheme called DASA (Direct Admission of Students Abroad) gives foreign national students and Non-Resident Indians (NRIs) a chance to enrol in graduate and undergraduate architecture, engineering, and management programmes at prestigious Indian institutions. The Government of India's Ministry of Education oversees this programme.

Without taking an entrance exam in India, qualifying candidates can gain admission to the participating universities under the DASA scheme based only on their SAT scores. The programme also bestow a sm4all number of scholarships to worthy and distinguished students.

The Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs), National Institutes of Technology (NITs), Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIITs), and other centrally supported technical institutes are among the organisations that participate in the DASA system. 

Table of content

DASA exam

DASA Registration


Frequently asked questions

DASA Scheme

An initiative of the Indian government known as DASA (Direct Admission of Students Abroad) gives foreign nationals and non-resident Indians (NRIs) the chance to enrol in undergraduate and graduate programmes at renowned Indian institutions of engineering, architecture, and management. The programme aims to encourage cultural variety in technical education and entice talented overseas students to pursue their academic goals in India.

Without taking an entrance exam in India, qualified candidates can gain admission to participating universities based solely on their SAT/GRE scores under the DASA scheme. Additionally, the programme provides a limited number of scholarships to eligible and distinguished students, making it feasible and accessible for foreign students to pursue their academic goals in India.

Institutions taking part in the DASA programme include the National Institutes of Technology (NITs), Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIITs), and other officially financed technical institutes in India, such as the Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs), NITs, and IIITs. The academic excellence, research prowess, and industrial relationships of these schools are well-known throughout the world, giving students many opportunity to develop their technical and leadership qualities.

Overall, the DASA plan is a great move by the Indian government to support the internationalisation of technical education and draw top talent to India to support its growth story.

DASA exam

A student is not required to take a particular DASA exam in order to be admitted under the DASA programme. However, in order to apply for admission under the programme, students must meet specific qualifying requirements. Depending on the programme and the school that a student is interested in, the qualifying requirements may differ slightly.

A student must typically be a foreign national or a non-resident Indian (NRI) and have passed their qualifying examination (12th standard or equivalent) or be scheduled to take it in the year of application in order to be eligible for admission under the DASA system. Additionally, the student must have met the institution of their choice's minimum requirements on the qualifying exam.

Also Read: JEE Mains 2023: Check Chapter Wise Weightage Of Subjects

Additionally to Students must submit their SAT scores (for undergraduate programmes) or GRE scores (for postgraduate programmes) as part of the application process in addition to satisfying the eligibility requirements. Candidates will be narrowed down for admission to the participating institutions using the scores.

DASA registration

International students seeking admission to undergraduate engineering programmes at prestigious technical institutes in India must go through the DASA, or Direct Admission of Students Abroad, admissions process. The Ministry of Education, Government of India, oversees the DASA programme.

The following steps are commonly included in the DASA registration process:

Checking for Eligibility:- Prior to signing up for DASA, students should make sure they match the following requirements:

In addition to PIOs (Persons of Indian Origin), OCIs (Overseas Citizens of India), and NRIs (Non-Resident Indians), they must be foreign nationals.

They must have passed their 10+2 exam or an equivalent with Physics, Chemistry, and Mathematics as their required courses.

They must have a minimum overall grade in these disciplines of 60% or above.

They need a legitimate SAT subject.

The DASA scheme registration process is typically carried out online using the DASA website (https://www.dasanit.org/). Depending on the year, the registration procedure often begins in April and lasts until June or July.

Follow the instructions below to sign up for the DASA programme:

  • Click on the "Register Now" button on the DASA website (https://www.dasanit.org/).
  • To create an account, enter the needed information, including your name, email address, and mobile number.
  • Use your login information after creating an account.
  • Complete the application form with the necessary personal, academic, and other information.
  • Upload the necessary paperwork, including a copy of your passport, grade reports, and SAT or GRE scores.
  • Utilise the online payment method to pay the registration cost.
  • Examine the fill up an application and submit it.
  • You will get a confirmation email after submitting the application form. You can check the status of your application and download the admission card for the counselling procedure using your login information. The registration process and eligibility requirements may change significantly from year to year, thus it is advised to visit the official website for the most recent information.


To sum up, the DASA scheme offers a fantastic chance for non-resident Indians and foreign nationals to gain admission to India's top technical institutes. Based on SAT/GRE results, the programme offers a shortened admissions process and a small number of grants to outstanding applicants. By enticing outstanding students from all around the world, the Government of India hopes to encourage cultural variety and the internationalisation of Indian technical education.

Also ReadPreparing For JEE Main: A Comprehensive Guide

Students who take part in the DASA plan have access to top-notch technical education in India as well as the chance to fully immerse themselves in the country's dynamic and diverse culture. Different teaching philosophies, research possibilities, and cross-cultural encounters can all be beneficial for students. The DASA scheme is a great platform for overseas students to pursue because of this. their academic and professional goals, and give back to the world's technological experts.

Frequently asked questions

Q1. How many seats total are there in the DASA scheme?

Ans. There are 4318 total seats in DASA, as indicated by the seat matrix for 2022. 1430 DASA seats out of 4318 are set aside for CIWG candidates, and 2888 are available to regular DASA applicants

Q2. What year did DASA start basing admissions on JEE Main?

Ans. Admissions to DASA/CIWG are based on JEE Main Ranks beginning January 2021. The DASA programme no longer accepts SAT subject scores.

Q3. What exactly is it DASA quota?

Ans. The DASA quota designates a particular amount of seats at India's top engineering colleges for NRI, PIO, OCI, and foreign students. 15% of the institute's total seats are allocated to the DASA quota.

Q4. Is IIIT Hyderabad is not governed by DASA ?

Ans. DASA admissions at IIIT Hyderabad are only accepted through direct counselling. They have a different application procedure. There are 41 DASA seats in total at IIIT Hyderabad. For DASA admissions, IIIT Hyderabad continues to take SAT test scores into account.